We Are Laid Asleep Choral Suite (Vocal Score)


Scored for: Mixed voices and piano (with optional brass quintet, percussion, harp and strings)
Level: Moderate
Duration: 13 minutes

Other Info: We Are Laid Asleep was written to commemorate the 250th anniversary of the birth of one of the world's most celebrated poets, William Wordsworth. Scored for mixed voices and piano with optional strings, harp and percussion, this 13 minute choral suite contains settings of words by William Wordsworth from Tintern Abbey

1. We Are Laid Asleep
We are laid asleep
In body, and become a living soul:
While with an eye made quiet by the power
Of harmony, and the deep power of joy,
We see into the life of things.

2. Still Music
For I have learned
To look on nature, not as in the hour
Of thoughtless youth; but hearing oftentimes
The still sad music of humanity,
Nor harsh nor grating, though of ample power
To chasten and subdue

3. Nature’s Carol
And I have felt
A presence that disturbs me with the joy
Of elevated thoughts; a sense sublime
Of something far more deeply interfused,
Whose dwelling is the light of setting suns,
And the round ocean and the living air,
And the blue sky.

Additional information


Vocal Score: ISMN 9790570701100
Catalogue Number: TP701100
Pages: 36

This title is available to hire from Tyalgum Press. Please contact us for more information.

Will Todd Shop

Browse Will Todd’s complete current catalogue, including the many titles published by Boosey & Hawkes, Oxford University Press and our own Tyalgum Press. Any queries, please don’t hesitate to contact us here.