Midwinter (CD Only)


This recording contains three early works by Will Todd: Midwinter, Saxophone Concerto and Brunel Suite. It was recorded in 1994 with the Brunel Ensemble, conducted by Christopher Austin.

“The Brunel Suite is a five movement (17 min) piece of span and epic sweep.”

“A medieval gothic air hangs like a chimera over the whole work [Midwinter]. These are cold landscapes: the blacks of shadow and night contrast with a snowy-dazzle and the sun coruscating off icy brooks and lakes. There is a risen religious and sensual ecstasy in the sung words ‘It was the time of midwinter that our love began and the snow fell’ but this is by no means restricted to this track.”

“The sax plays the insinuating lyric singer blazing through a kaleidoscopic multitude of style”

“Recommended warmly and with urgency”

” *****  Five Stars”

Music Web International

Track Listing

1. Brunel Orchestral Suite:

  1. Destiny and Demons
  2. Ellen
  3. Gossip
  4. The Death
  5. Judgement

2. Midwinter:

  1. Prologue
  2. Autumn
  3. Winter
  4. Snow
  5. Love
  6. Birth
  7. Miracle
  8. Epilogue

3. Saxophone Concerto:

  1. Allegro
  2. Ballad
  3. Swing

Additional information


Brunel Ensemble
Christopher Austin (Conductor)
Ben Waghorn (tenor sax)
Jennifer Maybe (sop)
Paul Robinson (baritone)

Release Date: 1994
Label: Nimbus

Will Todd Shop

Browse Will Todd’s complete current catalogue, including the many titles published by Boosey & Hawkes, Oxford University Press and our own Tyalgum Press. Any queries, please don’t hesitate to contact us here.