Song of the Nativity


Song of the Nativity by The Sixteen conducted by Harry Christophers on the Coro label and contains Christmas choral classics including Will Todd’s beautiful anthem My Lord Has Come.

The Sixteen contrasts the dramatic intensity of music by some of today’s most admired composers with traditional and modern carols. Every one of them by their unashamed simplicity captures the joy and sincerity of this most wonderful of seasons. This album provides a perfect, peaceful, and uplifting antidote to the hectic pre-Christmas rush.

“The Sixteen’s consummate technical ability has long been legendary, but it’s their ability to conceal it which is truly special. It puts the music front and centre, in this beautifully realised Christmas sequence.”  BBC Music Magazine

Track Listing

  1. O magnum mysterium Morten Lauridsen 
  2. Adam lay ybounden Howard Skempton
  3. The Saviour's work Traditional
  4. The Christ-child Gabriel Jackson
  5. Bethlehem Down Peter Warlock
  6. A Gallery Carol Traditional
  7. My Lord has come Will Todd
  8. The Holy Boy John Ireland
  9. O little town of Bethlehem Henry Walford Davies
  10. When Christ was born of Mary free John Gardner
  11. Now may we singen Cecilia McDowall 
  12. Children's Song of the Nativity Traditional
  13. Adam lay ybounden Boris Ord
  14. Song of the Shepherds Alec Roth
  15. Somerset Carol Traditional
  16. The Shepherd's Carol Bob Chilcott 
  17. This endris night Traditional
  18. There is a flower John Rutter
  19. Christmas Eve Traditional
  20. And all the stars looked down Alan Bullard 
  21. Dutch Carol  Traditional
  22. O radiant dawn James MacMillan

Additional information


The Sixteen, conducted by Harry Christophers

Release Date: 2016
Catalogue No: COR16146
Label: CORO

Will Todd Shop

Browse Will Todd’s complete current catalogue, including the many titles published by Boosey & Hawkes, Oxford University Press and our own Tyalgum Press. Any queries, please don’t hesitate to contact us here.