Natus: Music for Advent, Christmas and Epiphany


This programme is a tour of some of the music heard in Blackburn’s cathedrals in the glorious period of Advent to Epiphany. The Choirs of Blackburn Cathedral make their first recording with Priory for over 20 years under the direction of their director, Sam Hudson.

Track Listing:

  1. Anon.: O Emmanuel (Antiphonen zum Magnificat vom 17. Bis zum 23. Dezember)
  2. Byrd: Cantiones Sacrae I: Vigilate
  3. Rudolph, G L: Veiled in Darkness
  4. Anon.: O Radix Jesse (Antiphonen zum Magnificat vom 17. Bis zum 23. Dezember)
  5. Bussey: The Jesse Tree
  6. Parsons, R: Ave Maria
  7. Anon.: O Oriens (Antiphonen zum Magnificat vom 17. Bis zum 23. Dezember)
  8. MacMillan: The Strathclyde Motets: O Radiant Dawn
  9. Beamish: In the stillness
  10. Holst: In the Bleak Mid-winter (Cranham)
  11. Trad.: Ding dong! merrily on high
  12. Rutter: Candlelight carol
  13. Tambling: Toccata, "Noel"
  14. Todd: My Lord has come
  15. Trad.: Tomorrow Shall be my Dancing Day
  16. Cooper, David: Dormi Jesu
  17. Victoria: O magnum mysterium, motet
  18. Bednall: Welcome All Wonders (Bible and Anonymous text)
  19. Howells: Here is the Little Door
  20. Mendelssohn: Christus, Op. 97, MWV A 26: There Shall a Star Come Out of Jacob (Sung in English)
  21. Theodoricus Petri Nylandensis: Of the Father's Heart Begotten (arr. D. Willcocks for choir)


Additional information


The Choirs of Blackburn Cathedral
Samuel Hudson (director)
Shaun Turnbull (organ)

Release Date: 30th Oct 2015
Catalogue No: PRCD1160
Label: Priory

Will Todd Shop

Browse Will Todd’s complete current catalogue, including the many titles published by Boosey & Hawkes, Oxford University Press and our own Tyalgum Press. Any queries, please don’t hesitate to contact us here.