Requiem (CD Only)


Fairhaven Singers
Bethany Halliday Soprano
Thomas Gray Electric Guitar
Ralph Woodward Conductor
Will Todd Ensemble

Commissioned by Fairhaven Singers, this recording of Will Todd’s Requiem was awarded 5 stars by Choir & Organ Magazine, and an 18 certificate by Aled Jones!

"Those who know Todd’s Mass in Blue will have encountered his synthesis of choral and jazz idioms, and his Durham Jazz Evensong continues that trend. However, his Requiem… represents a different and totally original fusion, in which the keening and wailing sound of the bass guitar suggests disturbing images of death, making a most effective foil to the choral textures. The climax of the work, the Agnus Dei and the In Paradisum, features a lengthy and impassioned guitar solo and an equally wide range of colour from choir and soprano soloist – an outstanding response to the text." Alan Bullard, Choir & Organ Magazine


Track Listing (CD also features Venite and Durham Jazz Evensong)

Requiem for soprano, electric guitar and choir

1 Introit and Kyrie

2 Dies Irae

3 Rex Tremendae

4 Lacrimosa

5 Pie Jesu

6 Offertorium

7 Sanctus

8 Agnus Dei (cadenza improvised by Thomas Gray)

9 In Paradisum

10 Venite

Durham Jazz Evensong

11 Opening Prayers and Psalm 142

12 Magnificat

13 Nunc Dimittis

14 The Lord's Prayer

15 Final Prayers

Additional information


Fairhaven Singers
Bethany Halliday (Soprano)
Thomas Gray (Electric Guitar)
Ralph Woodward (Conductor)
Will Todd Ensemble

Label: Tyalgum Press
Catalogue No: TYA003
Release Date: 2008

You may also like…

Will Todd Shop

Browse Will Todd’s complete current catalogue, including the many titles published by Boosey & Hawkes, Oxford University Press and our own Tyalgum Press. Any queries, please don’t hesitate to contact us here.